PM Modi to attend G7 meeting in Japan: All you need to know, date, timing, India’s role, frequently asked questions – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be in Japan’s Hiroshima from May 19-21 for the Group of Seven (G7) summit. He will be the second Indian head of state to visit Hiroshima — the location of the world’s first atomic attack at the end of World War II — since Jawaharlal Nehru in 1957.

Two overlapping challenges will dominate the discussions among the G7 – the first is Russia’s campaign in Ukraine and the second concerns the grim state of the global economy rocked not just by war but also by Covid-19.
India a regular guest
Japan, which is hosting the G7 this year, has invited India as the guest country.
India has been a regular guest of the G7, invited by France in 2019, by the UK in 2021, and when Germany was the host in 2022.

‘Indians have established a global reputation…’, says S Jaishankar

In 2020 India was invited by the US to the G7, though it was cancelled on account of Covid-19.

As a regular guest member of the G7, India is uniquely placed because it is both an emerging and developing country but has a claim and a stake in global decision-making. In many ways, India, is representative of the countries left out of the steering group.
Losing relevance?
The G7 countries’ share of global economic activity has shrunk to about 30% from roughly 50% four decades ago.

Developing economies such as China, India and Brazil have made huge gains, raising questions about the G7′s relevance and its role in leading a world economy that’s increasingly reliant on growth in less wealthy nations.
Frequently asked question about the G7 bloc:
What is the G7?
The Group of Seven is an informal group of leading industrialised nations.
It comprises of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.
The first summit was in 1975, when France hosted what was then a Group of Six meeting to discuss tackling a recession that followed an Arab oil embargo. Canada became the seventh member a year later. Russia joined to form the G8 in 1998 but was expelled after Moscow’s 2014 annexation of Crimea.
Where is it being held this year?
The presidency of G7 summits revolves among the seven members.
This year is Japan’s turn to host and it has decided to hold the event in Hiroshima, the location of the world’s first atomic attack at the end of World War II.
Why Hiroshima?
Hiroshima is Japanese PM Fumio Kishida’s hometown.
His choice of venue underscores a determination to put nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation at the top of the agenda of this year’s summit.
A path to nuclear disarmament has appeared more difficult with Russia’s recent nuclear weapon threats in Ukraine, as well as nuclear and missile development by China and North Korea.
Kishida on Friday will welcome arriving leaders at the Hiroshima Peace Park. He also plans to escort the leaders to the A-bomb museum, in the first group visit by heads of nuclear states. There might also be a meeting with atomic bomb survivors.
When is the G7 summit?
The summit will begin on May 19 and end on May 21.
Who else is invited?
Besides the 7 countries, two representatives of the European Union will also participate in the summit.
As is customary in recent years, leaders from some non-G7 countries and international organizations will also participate in some sessions.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be attending the summit on the invitation of Japanese PM Fumio Kishida, who has stressed on the importance of reaching out to developing countries.
Leaders of Australia, Brazil, Comoros, Cook Islands, Indonesia, South Korea and Vietnam are also invited.
Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy will virtually join a session on Ukraine and Russia.
What will be India’s role?
India’s participation will be structured around three formal sessions.
Two of them would be held on May 20 and the third one on May 21.
In the two structural sessions on May 20, the first one relates to food, health, development and gender equality. The second session is on climate, energy and environment, and the third session on May 21 is titled ‘Towards Peaceful, Stable, and Prosperous World’.
What else is India planning?
India is planning for a Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QUAD) leaders meeting in Japan on the sidelines of the G7 Summit, foreign secretary Vinay Kwatra said.

No Quad meeting after Biden cancels Australia visit as US debt crisis peaks

“We are planning Quad leaders meeting in Hiroshima with Japan’s PM Fumio Kishida, US President Joe Biden, Australia PM Anthony Albanese, and of course PM Modi,” said Kwatra. The statement came after the Quad summit, scheduled to take place on May 24 in Australia, was called off.
Albanese said the Quad meeting in Sydney would not go ahead after Biden cancelled his visit to Australia to focus on crucial debt-ceiling talks in Washington.

PM Modi is also scheduled to unveil a bust of Mahatma Gandhi in Hiroshima.
What are the top issues that will be discussed at the G7?
The leaders will discuss a wide range of issues, including economic policy, security, nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, climate change, energy and gender.
The G7 is also expected to strongly condemn Russia’s war on Ukraine while pledging their continuing support for Ukraine. Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy will join the session virtually.

There will also be a focus on Beijing’s escalating threats against Taiwan, the self-governing democratic island Beijing claims as its own, and ways to reduce Western democracies’ economic and supply chain dependency on China.
To address the rise of Global South nations, including many former colonies of Western powers with varied views on and ties to Russia and China, the G-7 will offer these countries more support in health, food security and infrastructure to develop closer ties.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *